RSS Feed

Freelancing

Posted on

I have to say that freelancing is one of the most difficult and touchy things I’ve ever had to do. I have been up and down craig’s list lately seeing if I can find any nice projects, but no. I mean if you have seen the things on there… no really, just go look. Some people want designs for almost nothing, and the ones that really make me mad are the one’s that ask for “student’s looking to grow their portfolio.” Those ones are the worst. Almost all of them will say that they aren’t going to pay you, but you’ll get some experience and credit.

All I have to say is this. How often does a person look at the credits of anything just because they wanted to hire the person that did it? I have never caught myself saying, “Wow that guy who did the makeup in that movie did a great job! I’m going to hire him to do mine!” And exposure can only take you so far. Chances are that if you’re trying to get a design for free that your expose isn’t very far and the designers would have a better chance publicizing themselves. I work constantly to upgrade my work and my portfolio, and to gain exposure, so yeah, I can do that myself.

Bottom line, stop trying to take advantage of students. That’s not cool. And you students, stop saying your work isn’t worth any money. Everything is worth something.

Share/Bookmark

Leave a Reply

